United Nations

United Nation is an organization that interconnects different governments. It was established on October 24, 1945 that in effect it replaced the ineffective League of Nations and was established to promote co-operation internationally. At the start, the UN consisted of fifty one member countries while at the moment there are about a hundred and ninety three member states and two observer states. Their headquarters are based in New York City, Manhattan with its further main offices in Nairobi, Geneva and Vienna. The secretary general is the most prominent office in the organization and currently the position is held by Ban Ki-Moon. United Nations has a number of objectives that include; peace and security maintenance internationally, protection of human rights, fostering economic and social development, environment protection and provision of humanitarian aid in cases of natural disaster, conflicts and famine. It has six principal organs, the Security Council, general Assembly, Economic and social Council, the internal court of justice, the secretariat and the trusteeship council that suspended its operation in 1994.

The General Assembly

The General Assembly is the primary deliberative assembly of the organization that consists of all united nation member states. The assembly regularly meets in each year sessions with emergency sessions also allowed. Presence and voting of a two-third majority are required for any general assembly vote on an important question. The important questions include elections of organ members, members admission, suspension and expulsion, peace recommendations and matters on budgetary. Majority vote decides all other questions, with each member country having one vote in all resolutions apart from the budgetary matters that do not bind members. The assembly is mandated on making the recommendation on any matter regarding the UN except matters that are under review by the Security Council. About eight committees namely the general, credential, first, second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth committees can forward draft resolutions to the Assembly.

The secretary-general

The general assembly usually appoints the secretary-general, after the Security Council in which the permanent members have veto power has recommended that person. He is the leader and spokesperson of UN and also heads many councils and committees. The role of the secretary in recent years has doubled up with increased duties of being a diplomat and mediator on disputes between state members and also finding the consensus on global issues. The appointment of the post will be based on the geographical rotation and the secretary general will not be selected from the five permanent members of the Security Council.


© 2020 Take A Chance To Become A Good Writer!